Varvara – Death Defying Tricks (2016)


Title: Death Defying Tricks
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: Haminian Sounds
Genre: Alternative, Indie Rock
Quality: 320 Kbps
Total Time: 38:28 min
Total Size: 101 MB


1. Sons
2. Caught
3. Warning Sign
4. Headlights
5. Human
6. No Reason
7. Shadow of Mistrust
8. Arrows
9. Since We Can’t Explain
10. Crossed My Mind

n Hamina, Southeast Finland stands a statue of Varvara Schantin (1870-1941), who was born in Russia but became a native of the small town in later life. Schantin handed out food and refreshments to the 'Reserviupseerikoulu' (Reserve Officer Training Corps) before those soldiers had a possible date with destiny. Schantin's good deeds afforded her a statue in Hamina, a spot where Mikko, Tommi & Matti used to hang out in their youth and the statue inspired their band's name.

Varvara's beginnings were humble, but the band quickly became more than a friendly pastime as releases became picked up on by various sections of the finnish music media. Varvara helped to establish the musicians collective Haminan Sounds which releases their music. Varvara's output, over two albums and an EP, has slowly been recognized as a distinctive collection that harnesses disparate influences into a new sound.

The band have spent the past six months preparing their third full-length album. Produced by the band themselves the new album was mixed in Stockholm by Pelle Gunnerfeldt, who’s known as the guitar player and producer of late 90s alt-rock band Fireside. Pelle's work and sound style has been recognized with many international success stories such as The Hives, Refused and Disco Ensemble. The album was mastered by Brad Boatright (Beastmilk, Fucked Up, High on Fire..) at Audiosiege, in Portland USA.

”Death Defying Tricks” is scheduled for a January 2016 release and represents a self-confident band with an exceptional sense of intense melody amongst a series of quirky little details. Combining off kilter rock shapes to straight-up rock, Death Defying Tricks presents Varvara as a fully formed concern. The lyrical themes cover fictitious yarns to the closest personal insights.

Album tracks such as Caught, Warning Sign, Headlights, Crossed My Mind and Human Being present a super melodic entry point into Death Defying Tricks framework, perfectly contrasting more garage rock fair such as Sons. Varvara's most mature and accomplished album to date, Death Defying Tricks delivers on the band's promise whilst managing to raise expectations to new heights.