Nosound – Scintilla (2016)


Title: Scintilla
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: Kscope
Genre: Alternative, Post Rock, Shoegaze
Quality: 320 Kbps
Total Time: 48:56
Total Size: 114 Mb

01. Short Story 02:25
02. Last Lunch 07:00
03. Little Man 04:38
04. In Celebration of Life 05:34
05. Sogno E Incendio 04:43
06. Emily 03:20
07. The Perfect Wife 07:25
08. Love Is Forever 02:51
09. Evil Smile 04:33
10. Scintilla 06:27

After a decade of crafting a very particular type of widescreen melancholia and wistful imagery, Nosound's fifth studio album 'Scintilla' introduces a wholly new musical and visual approach for Giancarlo Erra's ever-evolving band.
Inspired by personal upheaval and a desire for change, 'Scintilla' is an emotionally complex and musically direct work presenting a stripped-down set of compositions that mark a major departure from Nosound's trademark symphonic lushness and production precision.
Taking in influences from Post Rock, Shoegaze and Alt-Singer-Songwriters, the album imaginatively utilises a mostly organic and acoustic sound palette.
Musically looser and more sonically intimate than the band's previous releases, Scintilla's emphasis is placed firmly on feeling rather than technique.
Anathema's Vincent Cavanagh lends his distinctive vocals to two of the album's tracks, and cellist Marianne De Chastelaine returns once more to the Nosound fold (this time in a more free-flowing and improvisational capacity).
Acclaimed Italian singer Andrea Chimenti co-writes and sings on the serene 'Sogno E Incendio'.
Shifting from the uncharacteristic sarcasm of 'Love Is Forever' and potent anger of 'The Perfect Wife' to the dreamy sensitivity of 'Emily' and the unusually uplifting 'In Celebration Of Life', 'Scintilla' represents the boldest statement of Nosound's career so far.
A cathartic album of emotional extremes, 'Scintilla' marks the brave beginning of the second phase of Nosound's fascinating career.