Niels-Henning Orsted Pedersen Trio Featuring Renee Rosnes – Friends Forever – In Memory of Kenny Drew

Title: Friends Forever: In Memory of Kenny
Year Of Release: 1995
Label: Milestone
Genre: Jazz
Quality: Mp3 / 320kbps
Total Time: 53:08 min
Total Size: 123 MB

01. Hushaby
02. Kenny
03. Someday My Prince will Come
04. Theme from Elvira Madigan
05. Lullaby of the Leaves
06. The Shadow of Your Smile
07. Sometime Ago
08. Days of Wine and Roses
09. Future Child - Friends Forever

Niels Pedersen made many rewarding recordings over several decades as a sideman with the late pianist Kenny Drew, so his making of a CD in tribute to him shouldn't come as a surprise. Joined by pianist Renee Rosnes and drummer Jonas Johansen, Friends Forever: In Memory of Kenny Drew primarily include selections which Drew loved to play. The Danish folk lullaby "Hushaby" is a bit unusual, as it includes a drum solo, as well as Rosnes' dirge-like piano. Pedersen's pulsing bass helps to disguise the introduction to "Someday My Prince Will Come," a lovely waltz recorded by numerous jazz greats. A lively post-bop workout of "Lullaby of the Leaves" swings like mad; while an initially funky introduction to "The Shadow of Your Smile" quickly gives way to a more traditional samba treatment. Pedersen's originals also merit attention. The medley "Future Child-Friends Forever" begins with the leader's intricate pizzicato solo, then adds his partners for the second song, which spotlights Pedersen's flawless arco bass. His special tribute "Kenny" reflects Pedersen's sense of loss without getting overly maudlin. This brilliant date adds to the already considerable recorded accomplishments of Niels Pedersen.~ Ken Dryden

Personnel : Niels-Henning Orsted Pedersen (bass); Renee Rosnes (piano); Jonas Johansen (drums).

Turbobit: Download

Uploaded: Download