Marlena Shaw – Who Is This Bitch, Anyway? (1975/2014) [HDTracks]


Title: Who Is This Bitch, Anyway?
Year Of Release: 2014 (1975)
Label: Blue Note Records
Genre: Soul-jazz, Soul, Funk
Quality: FLAC (tracks) [24bit/192kHz]
Total Time: 39:35
Total Size: 1,52 GB

Recorded: June 12 and December 3-6, 1974 at The Record Plant, Los Angeles.

A record as fierce and blunt as its title portends, Who Is This Bitch, Anyway? vaults Marlena Shaw into a brave new world of feminism and funk, updating the sophisticated soul-jazz approach of her previous records to explore a fast-changing musical, political, and sexual landscape. Opening with "You, Me and Ethel," a hilarious satire of the singles bar culture, the album dissects modern romance with uncommon insight and candor, addressing lust ("Feel Like Makin' Love") and loss ("You Been Away Too Long") without pulling any punches. The music is similarly direct and progressive, running the gamut from luminous soul to scorching funk grooves. Not only Shaw's best-selling Blue Note release, Who Is This Bitch, Anyway? represents her creative apex as well.


01 - You, Me And Ethel / Street Walking Woman
02 - You Taught Me How To Speak In Love
03 - Davy
04 - Feel Like Makin' Love
05 - The Lord Giveth And The Lord Taketh Away
06 - You Been Away Too Long
07 - You
08 - Loving You Was Like A Party
09 - A Prelude For Rose Marie
10 - Rose Marie (Mon Cherie)

Produced by Bernard Ighner.

Marlena Shaw - Who Is This Bitch, Anyway? (1975/2014) [HDTracks]