Lou Kaplan – Devil's Road (2016)


Title: Devil's Road
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: Fast Guns Records
Genre: Acoustic Blues, Americana
Quality: Mp3/320
Total Time: 48:21
Total Size: 128 Mb


1. Worry No More
2. Jack Daniels, The Blues And Me
3. Right As Rain
4. You're No Good For Me
5. A Man Like Me
6. Axe To Grind
7. Raised By Wolves
8. Headline Blues
9. Sweet Addiction
10. Too Complicated
11. She Made Me Choose
12. Apology Blues

Devil's Road is an album of acoustic rock, blues, and Americana by singer/songwriter Lou Kaplan (ex-Savoy Brown, Mad Jack, Last Train Out, and Lonesome Crow). Comprised of 12 original songs, the intimate setting of Devil's Road is juxtaposed with incendiary performances by Kaplan (vocals, acoustic bass), Mike Shaw (acoustic guitar, dobro, harmony vocals), Al Macomber (drums, percussion, harmony vocals), Sean McCue (harmonica), Don Williams (saxophone) and Pete McDonald (saxophone).

According to Kaplan, "The funky back porch vibe was intentional, but the outlaw attitude was unavoidable! We also benefited from the kind of transcendent synergy that only happens within decades long friendships. From a songwriting perspective, I always wear my heart on my sleeve, and Devil's Road is no exception." Jon Kleinman of Elmore Magazine called these songs and performances " a nice dose of rock 'n' roll swagger" with "great, hard-bitten lyrics from Kaplan." Enthusiasts of acoustic roots music beware... Devil's Road is one hell of a ride!