Kiss – Destroyer (1976/2014) [HDTracks]


Title: Destroyer
Year Of Release: 2014 (1976)
Label: Universal Music GmbH
Genre: Hard Rock, Glam
Quality: FLAC (tracks) [24-bit/192 kHz]
Total Time: 34:01
Total Size: 1,43 GB

Destroyer is the American hard rock group's fourth studio album. The record was originally released in 1976 and became Kiss' third album to reach the top 40 albums chart in the U.S. as well as the first in New Zealand and Germany. Destroyer was a departure from Kiss' typical raw sound that had been present in their previous three albums.

The pressure was on Kiss for their fifth release, and the band knew it. Their breakthrough, Alive!, was going to be hard to top, so instead of trying to recreate a concert setting in the studio, they went the opposite route. Destroyer is one of Kiss' most experimental studio albums, but also one of their strongest and most interesting. Alice Cooper/Pink Floyd producer Bob Ezrin was on hand, and he strongly encouraged the band to experiment – there's extensive use of sound effects (the album's untitled closing track), the appearance of a boy's choir ("Great Expectations"), and an orchestra-laden, heartfelt ballad ("Beth"). But there's plenty of Kiss' heavy thunder rock to go around, such as the demonic "God of Thunder" and the sing-along anthems "Flaming Youth," "Shout It Out Loud," "King of the Night Time World," and "Detroit Rock City" (the latter a tale of a doomed concert-goer, complete with violent car-crash sound effects). But it was the aforementioned Peter Criss ballad, "Beth," that made Destroyer such a success; the song was a surprise Top Ten hit (it was originally released as a B-side to "Detroit Rock City"). Also included is a song that Nirvana would later cover ("Do You Love Me?"), as well as an ode to the pleasures of S&M, "Sweet Pain." Destroyer also marked the first time that a comic-book illustration of the band appeared on the cover, confirming that the band was transforming from hard rockers to superheroes.


01 - Detroit Rock City
02 - King Of The Night Time World
03 - God Of Thunder
04 - Great Expectations
05 - Flaming Youth
06 - Sweet Pain
07 - Shout It Out Loud
08 - Beth
09 - Do You Love Me
10 - Rock And Roll Party

Kiss - Destroyer (1976/2014) [HDTracks]