Kid Creole & The Coconuts – The Conquest Of You (1997)


Title: The Conquest Of You
Year Of Release: 1997
Label: SPV Recordings [SPV 085-44712]
Genre: Disco, Funk, Soul, Latin
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue,log) | Mp3
Total Time: 43:15
Total Size: 361 MB | 142 MB (Scans)

AllMusic Review by William Ruhlmann:

Recorded in Hamburg, Germany, Kid Creole and the Coconuts' The Conquest of You has more of a Euro-disco sound than the group's earlier Caribbean-styled recordings. Arranger/producer Frank Loncar, who handles keyboards, bass, and drums, is the dominant musical force, and he provides musical tracks imbued with familiar-sounding synthesizer-based dance rhythms. On top of them, August "Kid Creole" Darnell sings typically romantic – or at least lustful – lyrics with only a little of his usual humor. True, "Too Fat," on which Darnell comes on like a deep-voiced Jamaican toaster, is an amusing attack on obesity, and the Hi-NRG "Girl" a clever travelogue tribute to females. But for the most part, Darnell is overwhelmed by the driving dance music, and he doesn't seem inspired. "Heart of Gold" borrows the tune of Simon and Garfunkel's "El Condor Pasa" and the lyrical concept of their "I Am a Rock," while "Edelweiss" (though not credited as such) is the Richard Rodgers-Oscar Hammerstein II song from The Sound of Music. Such material is not likely to resurrect Kid Creole and the Coconuts' recording career.


01. Forget About Love
02. Bi Coastal
03. Why Why
04. Too Fat
05. Conquest Of You (Part 1)
06. I Got My Handy On
07. Heart Of Gold
08. Girl
09. Edelweiss
10. Conquest Of You (Part 2)
11. Money

Kid Creole & The Coconuts - The Conquest Of You (1997)
Kid Creole & The Coconuts - The Conquest Of You (1997)