John Coltrane – From The Original Master Tapes (1985)


Title: From The Original Master Tapes
Year Of Release: 1985
Label: MCA[MCAD-5541]
Genre: Jazz, Hard Bop
Quality: FLAC (image + .cue,log,scans) | MP3/320 kbps
Total Time: 54:43
Total Size: 382 MB(+3%) | 130 MB(+3%)


01. Soul Eyes (5:25)
02. Song of The Underground Railroad (6:42)
03. Dear Lord (5:36)
04. Vilia (4:39)
05. India (13:13)
06. Spiritual (15:16)
07. Big Nick (4:08)

John Coltrane - From The Original Master Tapes (1985)

personnel :

John Coltrane - sax
McCoy Tyner - piano
Jimmy Garrison - bass
Elvin Jones - drums
Roy Haynes - drums on "Dear Lord"

This early CD sampler of John Coltrane's Impulse years gives the personnel listing but leaves off the recording dates. All of the music ("Soul Eyes," "Song of the Underground Railroad," "Dear Lord," "Vilia," "India," "Spiritual" and "Big Nick") has been reissued again on CD, making this set of greatest interest to those listeners just beginning to explore the music of the great saxophonist; the emphasis here is the more melodic and conservative performances, although several classics are included. "Vilia" (which was originally released on an LP sampler) was formerly the rarest selection.~Scott Yanow