J Churcher – Borderland State (2016)


Title: Borderland State
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: PIAS America
Genre: Alterntive, Dream Pop
Quality: MP3 320 kbps
Total Time: 00:41:45
Total Size: 102 mb


01. I Remember 03:16
02. Riding On Your Love 04:06
03. The Boardwalk 03:48
04. Last Summer 04:07
05. Borderland State 04:15
06. Finding Roxanne 03:49
07. Dream Team 04:02
08. How It Ends 03:37
09. Yesterday 00:52
10. In The Summer 04:08
11. Middle Of The Sun 00:52

Following the release of recent tracks ‘Yesterday’ and ‘Riding On Your Love’, Churcher unveils 11 tracks that together make up an extraordinary album, track after track enveloped by lush orchestration countered by ever-wistful vocals that to date has seen support from the likes of The Line Of Best Fit, Fader, 405 and 6Music’s Lauren Laverne.

Borderland State unfurls amidst the exquisite tones of opener ‘I Remember’, whilst expansive current single ‘Riding On Your Love’ enters the fray, portraying a love of cinematic scores coupled with hushed vocals before cascading headlong into the love-lorn fragilty of ‘The Boardwalk’. Having excited online with previously unearthed tracks ‘In The Summer’ and ‘Yesterday’, Churcher excels with single-in-waiting, ‘Finding Roxanne’ awash with fuzzy reverb drenched guitars, an exhilarating high.

Having recorded various parts himself over a two year period, it wasn’t until meeting London-based producer Dreamtrak that things fell into place and the album began to take shape. Aided and abetted by Dreamtrak on additional production and mixing duties, the album also features singer-songwriter Anna B Savage contributing backing vocals on several tracks – ‘The Boardwalk’, ‘Dream Team’ and ‘Finding Roxanne’. Churcher has created an album of dreamy indie-folk, delicate vocals, and intricate musicianship has seen him described as creating a “sonic sandstorm”, evoking memories of Mazzy Star and The Jesus And Chain amidst a backdrop of hazy sun-soaked beauty.