Gidon Kremer, Naoko Yoshino – Insomnia (1999)


Title: Insomnia
Year Of Release: 1999
Label: Philips
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue) / MP3 320 Kbps
Total Time: 78:03
Total Size: 356 Mb / 222 Mb


01. Haru no umi / Michio Miyagi
02. Nocturne / Kaija Saariaho
03. Stanza II / Toru Takemitsu
04. Insomnia / Yuji Takahashi
05. Prelude du Premier acte 'La vocation' / Eric Satie/Toru Takemitsu
06. Cinque piccoli duetti / Preludio - Jean Francaix
07. Cinque piccoli duetti / Pastorale
08. Cinque piccoli duetti / Canzonetta
09. Cinque piccoli duetti / Sogno
10. Cinque piccoli duetti / Rondo
11. 'Daphne' Etude / Richard Strauss
12. Six Melodies / No. 1 (Rubato) - John Cage
13. Six Melodies / No. 2 (Legatissmo)
14. Six Melodies / No. 3
15. Six Melodies / No. 4
16. Six Melodies / No. 5
17. Six Melodies / No. 6
18. Spiegel im Spiegel / Arvo Part
19. Il padrino / Nino Rota
20. Pantomime / Alfred Schnittke

Gidon Kremer, violin
Naoko Yoshino, harp

This is a handsome-looking compact disc release, with strikingly muted graphics in cool purple tones, featuring Latvian violinist Gidon Kremer and Japanese harpist Naoko Yoshina. Here the pretty graphics go a little too far: the buyer finds no listing of compositions on the outside of the package and has no way of knowing what is played aside from a bare mention of the names of the 11 composers featured. That's where the All Classical Guide comes in. The works were all written in the twentieth century. They are: Michio Miyagi's Haru no umi (Ocean in Spring, a calming, melodic piece); Kaija Saariaho's Nocturne for violin solo (a somewhat avant-garde coloristic piece); Toru Takemitsu's Stanza II for harp and tape (also pretty far out and very Japanese-sounding); Yuji Takahashi's Insomnia for violin, voices, and kugo (strange, but oddly soothing); a movement from Satie's Le fils des étoiles as arranged by Takahashi (austere); Jean Françaix's Five Little Duets (100 percent charming); the Étude for violin from Richard Strauss's Daphne (also charming); Six Melodies by John Cage (simple and pleasant); Arvo Pärt's Spiegel im Spiegel (even simpler and not startling); Nino Rota's love theme from The Godfather (you know this one); and the final movement from Schnittke's Suite in the Old Style (gently Classical except for one deliberately horrendous dissonance). So there you have the emotional progression of this carefully planned album. Much of it could cure insomnia; three or four pieces could cause it. The mood is nocturnal throughout. The recording was made in 1996 in Kioi Hall, Tokyo, with Wilhelm Hellweg as producer and engineer. It completely succeeds in what was intended; the microphones are close enough to Kremer that bowing sounds are very evident, but apparently only when the producer wants them to be.






My Releases